Out of The Mouth of Babes…

“You can choose courage or you can choose comfort, but you can’t have both.”

– Brene Brown

Daughter:    “Mommy, can you read me your story?”

Me:               “Sure I can read you a story. Go pick a book and we’ll read it together”

Daughter:    “No Mommy. Read me your story.”

You see a while ago I told my daughter that I was writing a story and when she gets older she would be able to read it. (Mistake number one is making any promise to a child.)

Me:               “Oh that. Well the story is not ready yet, so…” Before I could finish,

Daughter:     “Why?”

Me:                “Well, you see… Mommy um… Well, I can’t finish it now.

But I will, soon. And then I will read you Mommy’s story.”

I fumbled for the words I felt would quench her curiosity.

Daughter:     “Try.”

Me:                “Try? Try what?” A tad bit annoyed at this point. If only she could

understand the truth.

With elbows bent, palms facing upward, and shoulders elevated, she looked at me with those big brown eyes. As if pleading with me,

Daughter:   “Try. Try to finish it”.

If only it was that simple, I thought. Maybe it was.

Nonetheless I bent down on one knee, looked her in the eyes, “You’re right, my love. Thank you.” I kissed her on the forehead.

She smiled. She liked the sound of that. “I like you Mommy.”

I chuckled. “I luuuv you.”

Off she went to the next order of business.

I watched her walk away…

The nerve of that girl- using my words against me. *Insert hair flip here*

The truth is, I had finished the story. Almost immediately. The words flowed from me as if it had been etched into my memory. Then I hurried online and researched what to do next. I pondered over everything, from hiring a literary agent to self publishing. And then…

Nothing.

I let fear get the best of me. The voices in my head were loud. I’m not a writer. What about grammatical errors. Despite reassurance from a few close people, I doubted my story was good enough. So I sat on it.

I knew she was right. I needed to get out of my comfort zone and just try. Send off the story.

Instead, I let the fear of rejection and fear of failure cripple me.

She was right…

Darn!

If you related to this post, you might enjoy reading this Blog:
<a href=”http://mountainmoverscoaching.wordpress.com/2013/10/17/defeat-resistance-get-more-done

2 thoughts on “Out of The Mouth of Babes…

  1. She is right!!! 🙂 What have you got to lose? Do some investigation into literary agents – my daughter is doing this exact same thing at the moment – it can take time and be a bit nervewracking waiting for answers etc – but just imagine how you’ll feel when the ball really starts rolling.

    • Thanks for the encouragement! I am giving myself a time frame to get that done. I think the process is overwhelming. Glad to her I’m not the only one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

